It has been a long day…

…many hours spent remembering this date, which was Thanksgiving Day back sixteen years ago in 1996…a day of great sorrow, because I lost this:

Erik, #60

This photo is dated Aug. 31, 1990…six years and about 3 months before the unthinkable, the unbelievable happened on black ice at mile marker 100 near the town of Legnica, Poland.

One minute, a vibrant, brilliant mechanical design engineer, redesigning pollution control systems in Poland, and Beijing, China, and about to do the same in Italy…the next minute brought instant death, a head on collision with a German tanker truck.

Sixteen years, and though I’ve done many things (and almost died twice, myself) in all this time, the tragedy and loss remain fresh….

*********

LATE #1

All was very pale

in the dark that night

I saw a chin and a nose

every time I closed my eyes

I could not see your face

but I knew it was yours

as you lay on the ground

:dead:

In Poland

.

*********

LATE #2

Life

Reduced to paperwork

Files and accounts

.

It is still difficult to believe

You are no longer here

To joke and laugh

And do your Mike Tyson imitation

.

Copyright 1997  http://www.anotherthousandwords.wordpress.com

18 responses to “It has been a long day…

    • I’m certain of that, Jx! He was a good friend to many, both wealthy and poor…because he (and I!) had known both ways. He appreciated this world, this great planet, and believe it or not, was trying to find a way to harness the power of earthquakes and turn it into something useful! I’m not sure how it could be done, be it certainly is a provoking thought, yes?

      His old brother has also left us in 2000, at 34 yrs, so I guess I really did have what they call “Rent-a-kids”…they were here for only a short time, but both did a lot of good for their fellow man…of that I am so very proud!

  1. For me it was the 2nd of May 1986, he was on his way to his parents, where I was waiting for him. It was a Friday night, and he was on his way there for his 21st birthday part the following day, he was turning 21 on the Sunday. He had just finished his apprenticeship as an electrician, and life was looking good. He was travelling to, and a good friend of mine was going back to where he had come from, they collided head on. He was a on motorbike, she in a car, she survived, he did not. Somethings you never forget.

    • Thank you, Barbara…some may say it’s been so long…but it never seems to feel that way for me. I don’t want to be morose, just not lose this memory of a wonderful human being, who just happened to be my own child.

  2. Thinking of you. I lost my brother suddenly just one year and one day after your photo was taken. He was 30. He was interstate and called my Mum and told he would leave the next morning to travel to their house (1400kms) and to say Happy Father’s Day to Dad as he wouldn’t make it until the day after. But he died on Father’s Day. It’s been so hard for Mum and Dad.

  3. I am so very very sorry. I have typed and deleted about 20 other messages… there is nothing my words can say, no pain or sorrow they can take away. But I so wish they could. ~ Lily

Leave a Reply

