My current bedtime partner!

I have read much Twain, but not “The Innocents Abroad”.  It’s a quite riveting and funny tale subtitled

“The New Pilgrims’ Progress;

being some account of the steamship Quaker City’s pleasure excursion to Europe and the Holy Land;

with descriptions of countries, nations, incidents and adventures,

as they appeared to the Author.

*********

I’ve been a bit slow with this one, as I only read before I go to sleep…I’ve been so busy of late, that some night I can only make it through five or six pages!

7 responses to “My current bedtime partner!

  1. It sounds an interesting book. I have to admit that I have never read mark Twain. This sounds like the one to begin with. Thank you. I am making a note of it. Blessings.

  2. I’ve not read Mark Twain, I don’t read a lot of classics, I usually can’t handle the language and the way they are written, but I do really admire those that can read them. I hope it is a good story.

    • He writes well in this one, not so ‘folksy…and he is very opinionated re: his fellow ‘pilgrims’ to the point of acidly condemning them…and he has many descriptions of what life was like back then. He sure loved America much more than all these places overseas (NOT AU!) and I still have 80+ pages to go! He’s toward the end, in Jerusalem now…and I must say, I’ve been laughing quite a bit…BUT, Leanne, it is a difficult read, very long (500+ pages in small print), and I’m determined to get through it!

Leave a Reply

