‘Playing’ with Chinatown images

Here are a few things I worked on today:

It wouldn't be Chinatown without Fortune Cookies--bagged and boxed and ready to go!

It wouldn’t be Chinatown without Fortune Cookies–bagged and boxed and ready to go!

 

And, it wouldn't be Chinatown without this detail from the little pagoda on Cermak Road...

And, it wouldn’t be Chinatown without this detail from the little pagoda on Cermak Road…

 

...and the pagoda towers atop a building on South Wentworth Avenue!

…and the pagoda towers atop a building on South Wentworth Avenue!

N.B.:  On these last two, after converting them to black and white images, I applied the Artistic Filter ‘Plastic Wrap’.  It’s the first time I found it to be usable and effective!

18 responses to “‘Playing’ with Chinatown images

  1. Beautiful photos & well done with B&W conversion. But I didn’t get – ‘Artistic Filter ‘Plastic Wrap’. What is this & which editing tool has been used here?

  2. Beautiful rendering, mi amiga.
    I was surprised seeing Chinese images in black and white. Makes the viewer appreciate it more than the traditional bright red and yellow colors traditionally associated with chino objects and architecture. Rare is a pagoda in black!

    • The roofs were actually a very dark green tile, S. Chito…almost black in the winter shadows. Idecided on black and white and the filter to better illustrate the marvelous simplicity of the complex pagoda design!

      • I really like ‘playing’, amigo…it keeps the senses very sharp, and I have always been curious to find something new between ‘point A’ and ‘point B’, if you understand what I mean? This old gal is really more of a photo constructionist than just a ‘shooter’ these days!

      • Yes, I feel you have transcended to the higher realms of photography. Which is very good for your followers and friends since we get to see more variations in a wider spectrum. I’m sure the artist in you will keep moving on!
        Kudos, my friend.

      • Muchas gracias, caro! I just keep going, some days faster than others…on those slower days, I do reading and research and, of course, always manage to squeeze in a little ‘playing’! Don’t know why I am so very curious, but I have been since I was very small…I guess it’s a quest for knowledge, and my personal race to try to be the best I can be!

  3. It certainly looks like you have had lots of fun here 1000. You have brought out so many textures and I think the black and white treatment really suits that. They look fantastic.

Leave a Reply

