Chinatown: Some Last Reflections

Chinatown Reflections-12 Horiz Grain

 

Chinatown Reflections-13 Horiz Grain

 

Chinatown Reflections-14 Horiz Grain

 

Chinatown Reflections-15 Horiz Grain

 

Chinatown Reflections-16 Horiz Grain

 

Chinatown Reflections-17 Horiz Grain

Here are a few bonus images from Chicago’s Chinatown, when I chose to ‘look down’:

Taken on 22nd Place and Wentworth Avenue, five pigeons and a lone sparrow gathered for an early luncheon party...

Taken on 22nd Place and Wentworth Avenue, five pigeons and a lone sparrow gathered for an early luncheon party…

...and were joined by a sixth pigeon.  Funny, not a crumb of Dim Sum was to be found!

…and were joined by a sixth pigeon. Funny, not a crumb of Dim Sum was to be found!

At the corner of 23rd and Wentworth Avenue, this carved dragon sidewalk inset intrigued me...but not any of the other passersby!

At the corner of 23rd and Wentworth Avenue, this carved dragon sidewalk inset intrigued me…but not any of the other passersby!

Thank you for joining me on these many posts of Chicago’s Chinatown!

I hope they have been as interesting for you as they were for me.

There is so much more to this Chicago neighborhood and the wonderful Chinese inhabitants that I shall return, perhaps in a month or so!

6 responses to “Chinatown: Some Last Reflections

  1. Yes, they were very, very interesting. From the pigeons and sparrow, to the wonderful reflections and magnificent carvings…I have truly enjoyed seeing Chicago Chinatown and look forward to your next visit. Thank you!

    • Oh, you are so very welcome, dear Lancer! I find that our Chinatown here is the most ‘authentic’ outside of China…I haven’t researched the Chinese population of Chicago, but do know it is very large, and that most live in this particular neighborhood, just south (by two miles or so) of downtown Chicago. I’m planning my return, which depends upon the weather, of course, in about a month, because all those photographs were taken in one short block and a half! There is so much more, and loads of historical stuff there, that I simply must return!

    • Thanks…I understand it is a ‘most authentic’ Chinatown here, as the neighborhood is Chinese and the people rely on these grocers for their food, rather than the huge grocery chain stores.

Leave a Reply

