A Walk IN the Lake: Part 2

When I first arrived at Leone Beach, I was struck by the beauty of the frozen wave splash, which had created a tiny, white ‘mountain range’ along the shore!

Frozen Wave Splash

I had wanted some ‘quiet time’, just to think for a bit in silence, and I certainly found it at my favorite spot–the pier remnants!

Pier Remnants

I noticed that the lake had receded due to the frozen wave splash, so I decided to ‘take a walk IN the lake’!

Here's my image of 'straddling' the pier remnants...normally, I would be standing in several feet of water!

Here’s my image of ‘straddling’ the pier remnants…normally, I would be standing in several feet of water!

I walked on, and captured ‘the other side’ of the remnants, which I had never been able to see fully…and it was a great thrill, believe me!

The Other Side-Wide

Here’s a closer look at that camera left section…frozen stiff and away from the water (unless this GREAT lake begins acting up again?):

The Other Side

I’ll have at least TWO more parts to this exciting (and a bit dangerous!) saga, as soon as I’ve edited another twenty-some images.

Thanks for walking with me!

6 responses to “A Walk IN the Lake: Part 2

  1. Excellent pictures 1000! It is amazing that such a large body of water could freeze so (I was in Latvia a couple of years ago and I walked on the frozen Baltic Sea – so I know it can)! You stay safe…be careful when it thaws!

    • I do not go into the lake any longer,smacked…the beaches have closed a few times this past summer due to bacteria, and as I am immune-compromised from drinking Lake Michigan water since 1993, I just stay on shore. But THISD…this was special, because all this sand is lake bottom, and not even seen at low tide! I’m happy to say I’m a stubborn old gal, and wouldn’t have passed up this opportunity to shoot here for anything! Safety First…always!

  2. The images with the wood are so good, I like the texture of the wood against the water and obvious cold. YOu are making me want to go down to the water and take some photos.

Leave a Reply

