An important pasttime: Window shopping

You may remember my post recently called “Caught in the Stemware!”. That image was taken while window shopping at a ‘mostly antiques’  (but also costumes and theatrical props) store here in Rogers Park, Lost Eras.

Here are a few more shots I took that day:

The back door...and I'd be 'alarmed' if it wasn't!

The back door…and I’d be ‘alarmed’ if it wasn’t!

One of the few windows without bars...

One of the few windows without bars…

...as is this one, the window of the owner's office.

…as is this one, the window of the owner’s office.

Lost Eras is also a costume rental facility...Hallowe'en is their busiest time of the year!

Lost Eras is also a costume rental facility…Hallowe’en is their busiest time of the year!

It's probably true that you could find anything you want...

It’s probably true that you could find anything you want…

...or anything you might need!

…or anything you might need!

From china and glassware...

From china and glassware…

...to chrome and silver...

…to chrome and silver…

...to gilded teapots...

…to gilded teapots…

...and vases from the Orient...

…and vases from the Orient…

...anything your heart desires!

…anything your heart desires!

My desire would be this marvelous opalescent martini set. with stirring rod...but alas, as I am no longer allowed the 'luxury' of alcohol, it would only sit and collect dust!

My desire would be this marvelous opalescent martini set. with stirring rod…but alas, as I am no longer allowed the ‘luxury’ of alcohol, it would only sit and collect dust!

Lost Eras is located at:

1511 W. Howard Street

Chicago IL  60626

1.773.764.7400

6 responses to “An important pasttime: Window shopping

  1. lovely reflections 1000…I wonder how many people passed these by without ‘looking’ – a good tutorial on what happens if you take your time and ‘look’…

    • Thanks so, smacked! I don’t ‘drool’ when I window shop; it’s more calculating how to get the best shot in some really ‘ugly’ lighting situations. Though I am an artist, at times I am much more an ‘engineer’ when making images such as these. I must look pretty silly to others…this old gal, contorting herself merely to get the proper angle as the numbers are processed by her old gal brain!

      Perhaps I ‘take time to make time’ because, to my way of thinking, any image is a freeze-frame of time…and that moment of light and shadow can be pretty difficult to replicate, even in the very next moment and with the same subject. But that’s the way of ‘street photography’, isn’t it? The right time, in the right place!

      I also have my goal of demonstrating that though Chicago is a dirty, corrupt city, there IS beauty here, when we make and take the time to see!

  2. What a wonderful shop for browsing or window-shopping! Thank you for sharing the beauty of Chicago. That Martini set is beautiful but I rarely drink alcohol…I was fascinated by the little clock in the previous photo.

    • Oh, that little ceramic (?) clock sure is sweet, isn’t it, Lancer. If I had a fireplace mantle, I would grab it up so fast–I have a half dozen clocks in my tiny apartment already, so one more wouldn’t hurt. I just have no place to display it! ;>( !!!

  3. More great images through glass, I really like the glass in the first one, the same theme, but also very different. There are some mighty fine pieces of glass in some of the other images as well.
    I particularly like the window with the tree reflected in it, the window frame frames it beautifully.

Leave a Reply

