I went to the Loop today…

…to the Harold Washington Library, and took along my camera, intending to spend the entire afternoon roaming and shooting.

ALAS!  The wind that hit me on Van Buren Street, westward from Michigan Avenue to State Street, nearly knocked me over several times.

Today’s weather stated SSW winds 25-40 miles per hours, but between highrises is quite a different story.  I am neither small nor light…and I must use a cane.  I was bent into the wind at least 25-30 degrees, and sought shelter a few times in pilasters along the way.  Exhausted, I entered the Popular Library on the first floor, chose three new books, and stood in a line of 25 or so people (UNUSUAL!) before checking out.  I then walked across State Street and waited for my bus, stopping along the way to shop a bit, and finally came home to a totally-aired out apartment.

In lieu of nothing new today, I’ll treat you to these (from 1982) three canals of Venice.

 

 

All photos copyright 2012  http://www.anotherthousandwords.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

