Wondering….

WONDERING

Each morning

The reflection is more faded,

The eyes less clear,

The stress-wrinkles deeper,

The throat saggier

And the teeth more rotten.

 

I ask:  What was it all for?

To end up like this?

 

Parents and sons dead,

Friends lost,

Alone and poor of pocket

And spirit.

 

A birthday to be uncelebrated

Is only two weeks and three days off.

I wonder if I will see it

Come and go.

 

I’ve been feeling ill

Lately

As though

I’m coming down with

Death.

 

Copyright 2012  http://www.anotherthousandwords.wordpress.com

2 responses to “Wondering….

  1. That is actually a very good poem, although if there was something I could say to lift your spirit, I would do it in a heartbeat. I can tell you I hear you, and I feel for you.

Leave a Reply

