I spent a lot of time in a darkroom…

…over 30 years ago, learning to develop and print.  Being me, I got courageous, and also learned to withstand the smell of making sepia prints (Oh, and isn’t it so easy now…with just a click or two?).

I photographed my younger son Erik’s feet (he ‘hated’ me for a long time for doing that), and while printing, overlaid a piece of what was known then as light Pellon (TM), a stiffener used in sewing.

The result was this, of which I remain very proud…and because he has passed, I can still look at those cute young toes!

Erik’s Young Feet  Copyright c. 1977  http://www.anotherthousandwords.wordpress.com

2 responses to “I spent a lot of time in a darkroom…

  1. amazing. ive recently started developing my own b/w film, but never tried doing prints yet.. its amazing how much u could do back then when making prints. people always think that all these effects were invented with digital images n photoshop…stuff like dodge/burn…filters, contrast adjustments.. and layers too, apparently! haha

Leave a Reply

