I stop here, to thank my Mother, gone over thirty years…

…for introducing me to FIGS!

 

She was Greek, Anastasia, and not only introduced me and my brothers to figs, but also to oregano…which remains an herb I use more lightly than she did, yet more often…because my mind and my body cry out so often to be near the Mediterranean.

In those days, when I was a child, fresh figs were pretty much unheard of.  Since…I have tasted them…and they are the closest I have ever gotten to my great ancestors…the Peloponnesian Greeks.

Anastasia, my Mother, and my son, Erik, in 1974  Copyright 2012 http://www.anotherthousandwords.wordpress.com

Most who met them thought he was her son….

 

Greece and a Fig

Thank you, Mother,
For allowing me
To appreciate a fig.

Texture/taste acquired
When I was so young.

In those times,
The fresh fig was not available.

You know it now,

You’ve been gone from us
More than thirty years now.

A fig is delightful,
As I knew it then,

But fresh each day, Mother,

We’d have had to have lived
In your country.

Greece.

 

Copyright 2004  http://www.anotherthousandwords.wordpress.com.

 

 

4 responses to “I stop here, to thank my Mother, gone over thirty years…

  1. Your mother is beautiful, and every photo of your son holds such personality and brightness.
    Fleeting blessings, but blessings nonetheless.
    I know you hold them in your heart.
    I wish you peace and happiness, figs and oregano.
    ~ Lily

Leave a Reply

