Within the next few days…

…I shall turn, as is said, 66 years old…Pshaw!…never thought I would live this long…I wrote this right after my dear aunt, my godmother, passed from an horrendous bout with cancer.

 

NOVEMBER,1977

I am the dying:
Your closest friend
Mother
Brother
Aunt
Son
Conscious of your tears
Moistening this vanquished flesh.
Death’s perpetual parade courses
Victorious over Life ephemeral.
I surrender:
At Christmas
Passover
Fourth of July
My birthday
Tomorrow
Today
Momentarily
I was:

Copyright 1977  http://www.anotherthousandwords.wordpress.com

Nota bene:  This poem has been published.

Oh…how little I knew…back then…of life…and death.

Leave a Reply

