I’ll call this “In desperation”, I guess…

This god
Is not operating fairly.

It/He/She

Has not told
Each of us
How much time we have
To live.

I am disappointed.

Others I have loved
Have left this plane
Before me.

I am jealous.

Where are they
Besides being here with me
At times
When I hear their
Particular voices?

I am ravenous.

To be with
My children, my sons.
I alone bore them.
Is there no value
For that act?

I am quizzical.

When I hear the voice
Of my Mother
Father
Sons
And others,
From where do these voices come?

I ask, what is “The Beyond”?

Copyright 2004  http://www.anotherthousandwords.wordpress.com

7 responses to “I’ll call this “In desperation”, I guess…

  1. Beautifully written! There’s one poem that I also like on this subject by William Cullen Bryant especially the last stanza on Thanatopsis:

    So live, that when thy summons comes to join
    The innumerable caravan, which moves
    To that mysterious realm, where each shall take
    His chamber in the silent halls of death,
    Thou go not, like the quarry-slave at night,
    Scourged to his dungeon, but, sustained and soothed
    By an unfaltering trust, approach thy grave
    Like one who wraps the drapery of his couch
    About him, and lies down to pleasant dreams.

Leave a Reply

