Pretty, aren’t they?

I received these mid-afternoon on Friday from a friend, along with birthday wishes.  I trimmed the stems and arranged them in one of my favorite vases.  That’s when the excessive coughing began.  I took a number of shots…and went to bed around 7:30, feeling exhausted…and got almost no sleep (coughing was almost constant); my exhales were overly-warm, something I had experienced years ago due to an allergic reaction to tetracycline, from which I almost died.  I’ve never been allergic to flowers, but these may have been sprayed with some sort of pesticide, which has totally irritated my throat and lungs.

The coughing remains a bit, and I was simply too exhausted from so little sleep to even care about blogging.  I left some of you  “Likes”, but no comments; don’t think I do not appreciate the work you all do…I was just so out of it!

I did visit the Lincoln Park Conservatory last Thursday for my birthday!

LPC-Stockton Drive Walkway

LPC-Lunch at the Conifer Garden, Stockton Drive

LPC-Lunch Close-up

LPC-The Great Garden and Panorama

LPC-Entrance/Vestibule

Here are a few “teaser” shots:

LPC-Sausage Tree

LPC-Palm Frond

LPC-Orchid Cactus

LPC-The Fern Room

Lincoln Park Conservatory and the Eli Bates Fountain in the Great Garden

Positioned near the shore of Lake Michigan, the Lincoln Park Conservatory (1.2 ha / 3 acres) is a conservatory and botanical garden in Lincoln Park in Chicago, Illinois. The conservatory is situated at 2391 North Stockton Drive just south of Fullerton Avenue, west of Lake Shore Drive, and part of the Lincoln Park, Chicago community area. The Alfred Caldwell Lily Pool and the North Pond Nature Sanctuary are further to the north along Stockton Drive. Along with the Garfield Park Conservatory on Chicago’s west side, it provides significant horticultural collections, educational programs and community outreach efforts.  (Source)

6 responses to “Pretty, aren’t they?

  1. Another set of great images from you, mi amiga!
    And yet, I am saddened to know about your allergy.
    Get well my dear. Be up and about and enjoy
    the beauty around you.
    😉

Leave a Reply

