Variegated

variegated adj. having irregular patches of colours

That definition is according to my Oxford Minireference Dictionary and Thesaurus, which I keep in the first cubbyhole in my computer desk (one can never know when one requires a definition…of life).

I found this luscious tree while walking yesterday…I’ve walked this street many times in the past five years, and never noticed it…until now:

Variegated-1  Copyright 2012  http://www.anotherthousandwords.wordpress.com

 

“Pinkish

 

I have no idea, dear warm tree

As to your name

Your identity in the world of Flora

I will simply

Give you a new name

“Pinkish”

 

Sister Caroline  from high school

Loved that word

And used it with disdain

to describe many things that were not

“Pinkish”

 

Yesterday, dear warm tree,

You enveloped my lens and me

For that, I thank you

“Pinkish”

 

Copyright 2012  http://www.anotherthousandwords.wordpress.com

 

2 responses to “Variegated

Leave a Reply

