Yes, I was in Evanston…

…but it was definitely NOT a vacation!

On Sunday, May 20th, I went to the emergency room because I suspected another pulmonary embolism…and boy, was I right!  It was massive (I saw the CAT scan) and was blocking both the left and right pulmonary arteries.

Needless to say, I was kept in ICU for 2 days, CCU for another two days, and in a regular room for five more days, all the while being injected with lovely drugs like morphine (every four hours!).

I am not a “good” patient…the food was awful, really awful…and it was difficult to get any decent rest what with every MD in the place lining up to ask me to take a deep breath, which I could not as the pain in my right lung was severe, intense…as if someone was stabbing me with every breath.

I have been home a bit over a week and endured a week of the “oxygen machine”–a noisy thing which did not allow me to rest properly, and the tubing gave off an extremely unpleasant chemical-like odor that spoiled my appetite.  I now no longer need that.

To top off everything, the building elevators have been out of commission for the past week…it has been difficult to get out and back up to the 6th floor.  Yesterday, I had to walk back up as there was no one around to operate the freight elevator.  I managed quite well, resting at each floor.

I am making progress each day, and feeling better every morning.  For those of you who may have been concerned, I just did not have the energy to do much of anything until this afternoon.

There are brighter days ahead, I am certain!

The Red Sunflower  Copyright 2009  http://www.anotherthousandwords.wordpress.com

16 responses to “Yes, I was in Evanston…

  1. So sorry to hear that, I guess the good news is you will be ok, yes. Really, sounds like it all sucked. Better days ahead, I did wonder where you were.

  2. Oh my goodness, I was So Worried about you. I am sorry to hear of your ordeal, but glad that you are on the mend. Thank you for posting and putting us out of our worry. Maybe my little prayers helped, but in any case you were thought of and missed in your absence. Recover thoroughly and speedily! Fondly, ~ Lily

  3. Yes, I was wondering what had happened to you, too! Although I’ve known you only a few weeks through blogging, I felt something missing 😦 So glad you are on the mend and I hope there are no more scares. Look after yourself 🙂

Leave a Reply

