Art IS Freedom…

…and I am happy to exercise that freedom…in Photoshop (TM), of course!
I took this shot while walking around one day recently.  For the five and a half years I have lived in this neighborhood, one thing has really disgusted me:  the condition of the CTA underpasses.  CTA let them go for so many years, and it is only in the past several years that these northernmost underpasses are being repaired.  This one is certainly due for some heavy work, isn’t it?

Colors Under the “L”–Original

All the damaged parts weren’t easily discernible, so I ‘played’ for awhile and came up with this rendition:

Colors Under the “L”

I must admit, being a life-long artist…I do like the graffiti!

2 responses to “Art IS Freedom…

  1. I don’t often use photoshop – although I have nothing against it and will use it when necessary (well Lightroom actually)…it does make a difference to these shots though

    • The underpasses are really dank and dark…Lighting Effects helped bring the dullness from the shadows. I ‘shop everything, even if only to crop and bump up the contrast (which also sharpens the image a bit).

      And thanks so, smacked, because the litlle I did made quite a difference!

Leave a Reply

