The Pumpkin Heads: A Hallowe’en Story of Friendship and Desertion

At the Pumpkin Lot next door, this ‘guy’ started out looking like this:

Pumpkin Head and Heads-to-be

After a week or so, he looked like this:

Then, with some help from a dubious Pumpkin Surgeon, he ended up looking like this:

I think the Pumpkin Surgeon messed up a bit when performing the ‘eye lift’, don’t you?  But at least, through all Pumpkin Head’s ‘trials and tribulations’ before Hallowe’en, he did have a friend nearby!

Their last hours weren’t very fun-filled…the friend ran away, probably due to Pumpkin Head’s very scary eyes!  And Pumpkin Head must have run off to get a second opinion, and possibly more surgery, because this is what the Pumpkin Lot looked like around 5 PM:

By 7 PM, the remaining Heads-to-be and all the cornstalks were loaded up…

…and the Pumpkin Lot is now deserted…until it transforms into the Christmas Tree Lot!

Pumpkin Head didn’t have to run away…he and his buddy could have gone up the road a block away, and partied at Spooky Blow-up Tree’s place, where I’m certain they’d have had a fine time!!!

Happy Hallowe’en to ALL Pumpkin Heads, everywhere!

11 responses to “The Pumpkin Heads: A Hallowe’en Story of Friendship and Desertion

      • Please do, photos are great but it is nice to back them up with a story or two. That is the nice thing about blogging, you are able to write stories and illustrate the photos with words, unlike most ‘photo websites’…a good story well told is a joy to read! But occasionally photos are great on their own too..whatever you think suits best…

      • Thank you! I am trying to put more substance into my posts rather than just throwing up a pic or two and a paragraph. Judging from feedback I receive people like this much better. Besides I like dong the research.

  1. What a great series of images and words. Thoroughly enjoyed it 1000.
    I have to say I love the warm colours in the photos as well. They were so inviting and a delight to look at. I am looking forward to seeing the trees. One thing ends, and another starts.

  2. YES. I also dig your “Tale of Two Pumpkins” series. More stories, please! This is a beautiful series. You really brought the pumpkin men to life. I love the yellow hat! I can almost smell and feel the chilly, chilly air. Fun break! B.

    • Oooh, merci beaucoup, Mlle B.! I used to love telling stories to my children, inventing the plot as I talked. I’ll be doing more of this type of thing, I feel, because it is very pleasurable to write (read: play with words!).

Leave a Reply

