Remember awhile back…

…when I presented this Prairie Style house?

Well, I was walking up Sherwin Avenue yesterday (to get to the grocer’s) and happened to be on that side of the street…and the lighting (it was ‘noonish’) happened to be spectacular…and I happened to stop in my tracks!

The front windows under that ‘Prairie Style Overhang’ happened to jump out and cry, “Oh…take our picture, please…pretty, pleeeease!”…so I did…and happened to find some of the most fantastic ‘original’ early 20th century glass I have ever seen!  Take a look:

Prairie Style-3 Windows

Have a closer peek at the rightmost window from a more ‘head-on’ angle:

Prairie Style-1 Window

Aren’t the distortions caused by the hand-laid glass fascinating?  I don’t know the exact age of this house, but would estimate it was built before 1920, and designed by a student of Frank Lloyd Wright, if not Mr. Wright himself.  I’ll need to do some more research…introduce myself to the owners…perhaps they know some nice tidbits!

2 responses to “Remember awhile back…

    • Unfortunately, I think they didn’t get beyond the current building manager…a 20-something, control freak-type and very hyper girl…who happens to be the younger sister of one of the owners. She can barely handle her day-to-day duties w/o going into some sort of meltdown!

Leave a Reply

