Giving Thanks

What to be thankful for today…and every day?

I am happy and amazed to still be alive, to be able to post for you this morning.  It’s been a long haul for the past six months since my hospitalization in May for that nasty Pulmonary Embolism.  My wonderful doctor called yesterday to let me know my ‘numbers’ were  great (I must take Coumadin for the rest of my life and have blood tests every 3-4 weeks to ensure that the ‘clotting level’ is between “2” and “3”–mine is at “2.3”, YAY!).  His call came while I was just about to break the eggs for this:

My Pie!

There was enough filling left over to put in a dish and bake separately, so I had a taste last evening…oh, YUM!…since I haven’t baked a pie in over 25 years, I figured it might be a bust!

But, there are more important things to think about than eating today, and one of them is how much I appreciate ALL of you, the ‘followers’!  It’s YOU who keep me going…YOU who help me get out and photograph, even when I don’t feel like going out…YOU who write kind comments, and post at your own blogs (many of which I follow)!!!  I thank you….

Whether or not you’re in the USA (and many of you aren’t), please take a moment today, and every day, to be thankful for what you have been given…a beautiful planet to inhabit, glorious Nature all around us, and a sun that continues to rise each morning…

…and set each evening…

…no matter what!

H a p p y  T h a n k s g i v i n g  t o  A L L !

13 responses to “Giving Thanks

  1. Happy Thanksgiving 1000, I never realised, you have been through a lot, and I appreciate you following me as well. Lovely friendships, that is what I am thankful for on my blog.

    • Same here, Leanne…as a few tears well up! There are other stories of my own I could tell about previous Thanksgiving Days…they’re rather tragic, so I’ll just remain silent for now and be thankful for a new faraway friend, OK?

  2. Happy Thanksgiving 1000 (sorry it’s a day late), I didn’t know you were ill, but very glad you are getting better!

    For me blogging is all about making friends – if you were just in it to ‘show off’ your pictures then it would be a very shallow blog indeed and you would be missing the point. So glad I met you and I enjoy reading your blog very much and also our little tête-à-tête’s. Jx

    • Very pleased to know you, smacked…if only in the cyber cloud for now! I so enjoyed travelling, but cannot sit that long without some health risk, so I find bloggers (like you) who enjoy showing their countries…such as Australia, the Philippines, Hong Kong, Canada, India etc. It is so pleasurable to see all these places. I have had a special love for England since I was a child (perhaps I read too much ‘Robin Hood’?), and have not had the $$$ to go…then this health thing came up. That’s why I so appreciate you…you’ve shown the Dales, and caves…and other ruins and countryside I’ll probably never get to see. But your images are reality for me…and I sit back and look, very closely, and feel I’m there (almost)! Plus…I believe you are the ‘unstuffiest’ Brit I’ve ever communicated with…abnd that’s great! Have a wonderful weekend over there, OK?

  3. Pingback: I Shall Overcome « That's how I see the world

  4. I don’t know how I happened here sooo belatedly. I’m sorry to be tardy, but so thankful As Always for your stunningly beautiful shots of our beautiful world. Love these of lake and sky, and hope you enjoyed your pie. Bake to baking and enjoying the fruits of kitchen creativity–a very alive and happy sign, my friend 🙂 I am happy for you, and to know you, both. Hugs, ~ Lily

    • Thanks much for the HUGS, dear Lily! I begun baking bread again, also…for under $4, I can have a month’s worth of bread…and have all sorts of things I can add to make it healthier!

      It was a goal I put off waaaay too long, and am pleased I can still do it! Still have a piece of the pie in the freezer…best have it soon, so I can bake another!

Leave a Reply

