Still Life, with Plywood

I 'played a lot with this image, continually darkening it and giving it more contrast...I even re-worked it right before this post, so now I'm satisfied.

I ‘played a lot with this image, continually darkening it and giving it more contrast…I even re-worked it right before this post, so now I’m satisfied.

Still Life with Plywood-Ink Outlines

Last week, when I began on this image, I took it into Photoshop (TM) Brush Strokes Filter (among others!), used Ink Outlines and came up with this result, which I felt conveyed more of a ramshackle, abandoned feeling.  The building houses the Leone Beach Junior Lifeguards, who work the many beaches in this northernmost neighborhood of Chicago, and is ‘abandoned’ until the swimming season begins again on Memorial day.

I also wanted to see what it would look like with the ‘Snow’ app, as we haven’t had snow lately and none is predicted for the coming week…I sure hope to photograph some REAL snow, soon!

6 responses to “Still Life, with Plywood

    • Yes, everything is worked through Photoshop CS4 Extended…and I continue to learn new things every time I process an image. I DO like the warmer one best…the Ink Outline one is a little ‘eerier’, isn’t it?

  1. I like the top one best – it is warmer and friendlier – the bottom one looks like it could have ‘Jack the Ripper’ lurking around in the shadows..reminds me of some of the old ‘back yards’ they have in the run down parts of the city…a superb shot nonetheless!

    • Exactly…and it was my intention to make it ‘creepy’, smacked…in real life, it is a pretty quiet little area of a small neighboring park. I love standing there and studying the brick (I call that ‘thinking’) and wondering what the place was like when it actually housed the ‘water works’ for this neighborhood back in the 1910s, or a bit earlier.

Leave a Reply

