On the Magnificent Mile: VIII

At the InterContinental Hotel

Elegant Christmas decorations begin at the Michigan Avenue... Entrance

Elegant Christmas decorations begin at the Michigan Avenue entrance…

...and continue in the spectacular lobby with a curving staircase!  Note how the lights are reflected in the marble side of the staircase.

…and continue in the spectacular lobby with a curving staircase! Note how the lights are reflected in the highly polished marble side of the staircase.

Here's a detail from the large tree, which is at least twenty fee high...lots of beautiful ornaments!

Here’s a detail from the large tree, which is at least twenty feet high…lots of beautiful ornaments!

What impressed me more than that gorgeous tree and garlands was this marvelous mosaic floor of the lobby!  Every tile is set by hand, in the Tiffany style, to catch the light as you walk by.  I searched for info on the designer to no avail!

What impressed me more than that gorgeous tree and garlands was this marvelous mosaic floor of the lobby! Every tile is cut and set by hand, in the Tiffany style, to catch the light as you walk by. I searched for info on the designer to no avail!

As I turned to leave, I looked up and captured the signature Lion's Head in the middle of two griffins...wish I knew the significance of these three pieces of sculpture!

As I turned to leave, I looked up and captured the signature Lion’s Head in the middle of two griffins…wish I knew the significance of these three pieces of sculpture!

I had designed and hand-painted large floral vases for the InterContinental back when I was working for a Special Events firm here, but had never had the opportunity to step inside.  I’m so glad I did, and shall return, as the building has quite a fascinating history, and some wonderful public rooms.

6 responses to “On the Magnificent Mile: VIII

  1. WOW! What a magnificent building (and terrific photography). I hope you do find some information about the designer and the significance of the sculptures as I’m sure there would be some interesting stories. How old is the Hotel? I always find it amazing how much intricate work has gone into our historical buildings compared to some of today’s rather bland creations.

    • I’ll have to do a bit more research on this one after the holidays, at which point I’ll return and shoot more. I do know the building was originally constructed and owned by the Shriners, and was called the ‘Medinah something-or-other”…it has a huge gold dome on top, and apparently many other wondrous appointments…so I’ll just go in (dressed well, of course!) and give myself the *’five dollar tour’*!

Leave a Reply

