On the Magnificent Mile: IX

At 900 North Michigan Shops

From Wikipedia:900 North Michigan in Chicago is a skyscraper completed in 1989. At 871 feet (265 m) tall, it is currently the eighth tallest building in Chicago and the 25th tallest in the United States. It was developed by Urban Retail Properties in 1988 as an upscale sister to Water Tower Place, one block southeast, and was the second vertical mall built along the Magnificent Mile. The building features a large, upscale shopping mall called 900 North Michigan Shops.

From Wikipedia:
900 North Michigan in Chicago is a skyscraper completed in 1989. At 871 feet (265 m) tall, it is currently the eighth tallest building in Chicago and the 25th tallest in the United States. It was developed by Urban Retail Properties in 1988 as an upscale sister to Water Tower Place, one block southeast, and was the second vertical mall built along the Magnificent Mile.
The building features a large, upscale shopping mall called 900 North Michigan Shops.

Over the entry doors is this beautifully-designed lighting fixture, heavily decorated for the Christmas shopping season.

Over the entry doors is this beautifully-designed lighting fixture, heavily decorated for the Christmas shopping season.

 

Here's what you see when you stand beneath it...pretty, yes?

Here’s what you see when you stand beneath it…pretty, yes?

Let’s go inside!

At Bernardaud Fine China

At Bernardaud Fine China-1

Let’s take a closer look at that spectacular cup and saucer!

At Bernardaud Fine China-2

At Michael Kors

At Michael Kors

At United Colors of Bennetton

At Unknown-Cool Stuff

At MaxMara

At Unknown-Weird

At Christofle of Paris

You can purchase this Menorah for a mere $!,000...pricey, but totally gorgeous silver!

You can purchase this Menorah for a mere $1,000…pricey, but totally gorgeous silver!

But the ‘big draw’ this time of year at 900 North Michigan Shops is on the second floor!

It's several stories high, and simply loaded with ornamentation!

It’s several stories high, and simply loaded with ornamentation!

I got closer and, of course, couldn't resist looking up!

I got closer and, of course, couldn’t resist looking up!

So, look with me, even closer!

Bloomie's Tree-2

Bloomie's Tree-4

Bloomie's Tree-5

Alas, it was time to leave, so I took one last look as I made a ‘wish’ for all my followers to have a beautiful Christmas season, and that we may all have a very prosperous New Year!

I DO love this giant openwork urn, don't you?  I think, if I put my wish into it, it will roll around inside and filter out to ALL!

I DO love this giant openwork urn, don’t you? I think, if I put my wish into it, it will roll around inside and filter out to ALL!

 

4 responses to “On the Magnificent Mile: IX

  1. Great collection of photos here. I love the china, I love walking through stores that sell the really good stuff and dreaming of owning some one day. The building is amazing and that Christmas tree, well it is outstanding.

    • It IS lovely, and very changed from last year, which decorations were used for the four previous years and got a bit tired. The building is quite fantastic…I’d like to get up in one of those towers and shoot! I’ve been up in the Hancock building, but that was 15 years ago, and I had no camera at the time…guess I’ll have to put it in my “Must Shoot” book, huh?

Leave a Reply

