On the Magnificent Mile: X

At the Park Hyatt Hotel

It’s not a very technically ‘good’ shot, perhaps because I expected a bit more from this place.  I did much of their original outdoor planting before they opened in 2000, and know the interior quite well.  Though the address is 800 N. Michigan Avenue, this entrance fronts Chicago Avenue.

Pretty BLAH, as festive Christmas decorations go...I did not even go in to photograph their collection of Chihuly glass!

Pretty BLAH, as festive Christmas decorations go…I did not even go in to photograph their collection of Chihuly glass!

The little half-block long ‘western’ Michigan Avenue is where the carriages pick up their clientele, so the horses are always there, like this lovely mare:

All decked out, but she looked very, very bored...she was listening though, as her ears kept flicking back and forth!

All decked out, but she looked very, very bored…she was listening though, as her ears kept flicking back and forth!

If you turn 180 degrees, you face the western facade of the Water Tower, which was one of only a few downtown Chicago buildings to survive the Great Fire of October 8, 1871.

It's been more heavily decorated in past years.  There is usually a photography exhibit inside, but I didn't go in this time, because I had another destination, just kitty-corner across Michigan Avenue!

It’s been more heavily decorated in past years. There is usually a photography exhibit inside, but I didn’t go in this time, because I had another destination, just kitty-corner across Michigan Avenue!

At Water Tower Place

This year's theme is "Charlie Brown's Great Exhibit", sponsored by the Museum of Science and Industry.  It's a wonderful change from the somewhat scary 'dancing harlequins' which were used for more than five years!

This year’s theme is “Charlie Brown and the Great Exhibit”, sponsored by the Museum of Science and Industry. It’s a wonderful change from the somewhat scary ‘dancing harlequins’ which were used for more than five years!

Smaller trees, such as this one, are at the escalators which lead to the second floor...and are thoughtfully and sumptuously decorated.

Smaller trees, such as this one, are at the escalators which lead to the second floor…and are thoughtfully and sumptuously decorated.

Everywhere else, it’s huge lit snowflakes and lights dripping from the ceiling…quite an arduous installation!

Water Tower Mall-4

Water Tower Mall-5

When you arrive at the second floor atrium, the elevators, normally see-through glass, have been covered with (from this side) several story-high “Peanuts” characters…here’s Lucy and Snoopy!

Water Tower Mall-3

After riding to the third floor (and getting my ears re-pierced–Christmas gift to self!), I walked back over to the escalators and found this maquette of the Water Tower…nicely done by ‘unknown’!

Water Tower Mall-6

Oh, lest I forget, I did see something I absolutely loved on the third floor…and I don’t remember which store!

Both these outfits belong in my closet, but I really took the shot because those little paper things truly intrigued me!  Maybe next year I'll do something with them as an inspiration?

Both these outfits belong in my closet, but I really took the shot because those little paper things truly intrigued me! Maybe next year I’ll do something with them as an inspiration?

6 responses to “On the Magnificent Mile: X

  1. Beautiful! I love the yellow castle 🙂 and it was great to see the Peanuts gang. And those snowflakes and lights hanging from the ceiling – yes, so much work but thanks to you, very much appreciated on the other side of the world 🙂

    • I’m just so happy they changed the decor this year, Lancer! The ‘dancing, dangling harlequins’ were looking very sad and sorry last year! Because I used to do this as part of my living, I know how much planning and work it takes to make a successful display such as this…whew, I bet those guys were really tired out, as it probably took the better part of a week, and all had to be done at night, after the mall closed!

  2. It feels great to be back strolling along the Magnificent Mile! Pretty. I think the Museum of Science and Industry did a fantastic job with the decorations. Beautiful shots! I’m also intrigued by the paper decorations. How are they connected? Tape? The sweater with the scoop neck is also cute! B.

    • I want that sweater soooo badly, Babs! I have the perfect pair of black linen capris to go with it, and a marvelous 12-color silk screened Italian shawl in a basic rust/dusty rose/exactly that deep ochre combo! THAT”S what I would consider ‘dress-up’ with black tights and my lovely black leather 2″ heeled boots (with silver leather lining, no less!)!

      The paper things are probably held together with glue, or maybe glue dots. There are such lovely Thai and Japanese papers available (especially at Aiko’s on Clark near Addison (they used to be a Medinah Temple), that I am so tempted to make the trip and buy some, expressly to construct anumber of these. I think it would make a lovely ‘room divider’ or a hanging sculpture (if they were first cut into varying widths of strips before being rolled!

      Joyeux Noel, belle amie!

    • I think that’s because your wonderful nation has ‘changed’ so much, smacked…in all ‘political correctness’, the councils (and actually those leading a number of areas here in the States) don’t want to ‘offend’ anyone else’s ‘religious’ beliefs. And so it goes….

Leave a Reply

