After yesterday’s appointment with my wonderful doctor…

…(who is very happy I am doing so well while taking the blood thinning medication!), I hopped on the Red Line “L”, and ventured to the south side of Chicago–Chinatown to be exact!

Chinatown is about two and a half miles south of the Loop.  This is the view when you get off the "L" and look back toward downtown.


Chinatown is about two and a half miles south of the Loop. This is the view when you get off the “L” at Cermak Road and look back toward downtown.

I haven’t been here in almost ten years!  In 2002, I was working about four miles west, just off of Cermak Road, for a theatrical rigging company, and would come through Chinatown every evening I could.  Things have changed a bit; the entrance to the “L” is now enclosed (thank you!) and upon exiting, there is this lovely, huge piece of glazed terra-cotta construction:

The 9 Dragons Wall erected in 2003

The Nine Dragon Wall, erected in 2003

Here are the first three dragons...

Here are the first three dragons…

...and here are the rest.  The 9 Dragons Wall looks to be about twenty-five feet long and about twelve feet high!  Gorgeous craftsmanship, isn't it?

…and here are the rest. The Nine Dragon Wall looks to be about twenty-five feet long and about twelve feet (or more) high! Gorgeous craftsmanship, isn’t it?

This plaque on a pedestal in front of the wall explains everything; thankfully, and English translation is provided!

This plaque on a pedestal in front of the wall explains everything; thankfully, an English translation is provided!

This is just a tease!  I’ll be posting more of Chinatown over the next week, as I took over 85 shots in just under an hour (the other half hour I spent shopping in a great little store–you’ll be seeing that, too)!

12 responses to “After yesterday’s appointment with my wonderful doctor…

  1. Magnificent craftsmanship and fabulous photos but, best of all, the news that your doctor is pleased with your progress! I am very glad.
    I love the colours. I will ask my daughter-in-law if she has seen the matching wall in China. She was brought up in Hong Kong but has two sisters who live in China and two more in Hong Kong. And my grandson Jackie…his ‘middle’ name is Long, apparently a special family name which means dragon in Chinese. Really looking forward to seeing more of your 85 photos and so glad you had a chance to re-visit such a speial place 🙂

    • I worked hard to make certain the colors were as correct as possible (to what my mind retained), Lancer…and this wall is fantastic, and a great surprise!

      I’m feeling pretty good, especially now that the blood numbers have been where they should be for three tests in a row. It makes me very nervous when the number has gone below “2”…that means the risk for a new clot is heightened, and I reall don’t think I could survive one as serious as this last one was–only hours away from death is scary!

    • Muchas gracias, mi amigo…more images on the way, as soon as I ‘find’ some time! Much of the architecture is so decorative, I stood in awe, as I felt I was truly in another world…very few tourists, and many, many Chinese, out doing their daily shopping!

  2. Happy to hear about the positive report from the doctor!! I love wonderful section of Chicago. I’m trying to remember the name of my favorite restaurant. It was at the end of the main drag, on the left hand side of the road. It’s on the tip of my tongue. I’ll return as soon as I think of it. Your shots are magnificent!! The sky is so blue. I love the top shot, taken from the inside of the “L.” Beautiful. B.

  3. I look forward to seeing more. I love that structure, it looks so large and colourful. Our Chinatown is a bit pathetic, but maybe I haven’t given it enough attention. You are inspiring me to go and see what I can find.

    • After doing some research, I found that Chicago’s Chinatown is felt to be less of a ‘tourist trap’ and more ‘just a neighborhood serving its large population. There are about 50 or so restaurants, and some ‘trinket’ shops, but lots of grocery stores and just normal places of business!

Leave a Reply

