Up in the air, so high, so high!

The other day, a constant, droning noise outside bothered me enough to look out the window to see what was going on down below. I was shocked to see the upper part of this huge lift, not six feet away!

The cable repairmen were hard at work on a damp, cold, cloudy winter day. Awhile later, I went out to walk, and took these images:

They were removing old cables...

They were removing old cables…

 

...such as the one sticking straight up, then placing already-hung cables into the cable-keeper box that runs up the side of the building.

…such as the one sticking straight up, then placing already-hung cables into the cable-keeper box that runs up the side of the building.

Upon returning about two hours later, they were still hard at work and, believe me, it was cold and damp!

I took this image from my window...you can see how they were really dressed for outdoor work!

I took this image from my window…you can see how they were really dressed for outdoor work!

4 responses to “Up in the air, so high, so high!

  1. I guess we forget how people still have to work no matter how cold or how hot it is. I would love to go up in one of those to take some photos of some places. How cool would it?

    • I used to go up, don’t want to any longer! But these two were actually enjoying themselves, which says something about being happy with what they do…kind of a rare thing these days, don’t you think! The really cool thing is, their ‘view’ was exactly what I see from my window, every single day!

Leave a Reply

