Post number 1,000!

Oooh, I’ve come a long way, baby!

It’s been about sixteen and a half months since I joined WordPress and though I haven’t calculated how many images are contained in these first thousand posts, let’s just say it has to be somewhat over two or even three thousand, and I’ve thoroughly enjoyed taking and processing each and every one, presenting you with my best efforts!

In this post, I will show you some images I’ve been saving…I took them on November 2, 2012, when I went downtown to vote early (but I did not vote often, as some do here in Chicago!).  My location was the southwest corner of Washington and Dearborn Streets.  The large glass building houses CBS Television Studios, and is just across Dearborn Street from the Richard J. Daley Center and Daley Plaza.

I hope you enjoy “LOOP REFLECTIONS–or, Into the Glass…Brightly”!

The old reflected in the new, looking toward the east on Washington Street

The old reflected in the new, looking toward the east on Washington Street

 

The Richard J. Daley Center, reflected in the tinted glass windows of the CBS television headquarters and studios

The Richard J. Daley Center, reflected in the wavy tinted glass windows of the CBS Television headquarters and studios

 

Buildings south of Washington Street in Chicago's Loop, reflected in the south windows of the CBS building

Buildings south of Washington Street in Chicago’s Loop, reflected in the south windows of the CBS building

 

The Cook County/Chicago City Hall building (on the left) and the City of Chicago flag and other building, reflected in the west windows of the CBS building

The Cook County/Chicago City Hall building (on the left) and the City of Chicago flag and other building, reflected in the west windows of the CBS building

After such a ‘scary health’ year, I feel I am very blessed to be able to continue this blog; because I can no longer drink alcohol, I’ll raise a glass of imported Italian blood orange soda (Oh, YUM!) to YOUall my 165 followers–who have kept me going and given me the drive and energy to make it through these rough months!

You make me happy…and I am more fit than I’ve been in many years, because I walk about so many places here in Chicago, in order to present the beauty which can be found when we choose to search for it!

Here’s to YOU, and the next thousand posts!

10 responses to “Post number 1,000!

  1. Congratulations! I hope you know how much I look forward to your posts and kind comments on my blog. From the other side of the world I raise my glass (Pepsi-Max, it’s a hot day here!) to you and sincerely look forward to the next 1000 🙂
    And, wonderful photos as always. I can see why you saved them for this special occasion!

    • Thank you so very much, Lancer! I hope you know how much you’re teaching me about the countryside in Australia, and hope I’ve helped you in return. Just so happy to be ALIVE, after this past year…and thanks so for the great compliment!

    • It is a lot, smacked…due to wonderful people like you making me do more and more, because it is so much fun sharing cultures and lifestyles! It’s almost as if those thousands of miles did not physically exist!

      • Ah, thanks so, Leanne…I’m just so happy to still be alive, and be able to achieve that *first* thousand! The next thousand will be a ‘piece of cake’ I think…i’ve got such a heavy backlog of processing to do (as do you, yes?)!

    • It always amazes me that the glass looks so FLAT, yet is really so very WAVY! I’ve been taking images of this stuff since the late 1970s…for some reason, the distorted patterns fascinate me!

Leave a Reply

