A Walk IN the Lake: Part 4

As you recall, I was trying to get here…

1205 Sherwin Beach Terrace

…to 1205 W. Sherwin’s private beach.  I have friends who live there, but was unsure if I could get through the gate on the other side.  I looked at the fence which goes down to the water…

More Ice to Sherwin Beach

…and decided I didn’t really care to be slipping on ice that far from a building, where no one could hear a call for help.  I continued to walk up the sands, to the next building south, and found these overturned boats lined up, waiting for Spring to arrive.

Overturned Boats

I have photographed this area often…from the opposite direction, to give you ‘peeks’ at the lake.  This part of the beach actually belonged to my building when it was first erected as a hotel in 1926, to give its patrons access to Lake Michigan.  The building to the south is three properties away from my own, and I was quite surprised to find this nice, peaceful view:

Peaceful Place

I also wasn’t aware of this wonderful sitting area…

...complete with an outdoor fire pit for those cool lakeside evenings!  Surprisingly, it is also a Certified Wildlife Habitat...

…complete with an outdoor fire pit for those cool lakeside evenings! Surprisingly, it is also a Certified Wildlife Habitat

...and it's nice to know that people care about the many animals that frequent the beach.  I sat and rested a bit, guiltily wishing I could be here on a warm night, watching the planes fly in over the lake on their way to O'Hare airport!

…and it’s nice to know that people care about the many animals that frequent the beach. I sat and rested a bit, guiltily wishing I could be here on a warm night, watching the planes fly in over the lake on their way to O’Hare airport!

I was getting chilled, and had to figure out how I’d get back to the street.  Walking through the gated courtyard, I noticed the doors were a simple thumb latch, but I didn’t want to trespass either section of the building.

I moved on, and found this…

...perhaps it's a pelican attempting to swallow a large fish?  It was made of stone and looked as if it was carved free-hand style...interesting!

…perhaps it’s a pelican attempting to swallow a large fish? It was made of stone and looked as if it was carved free-hand style, smoothed on this side, but rough on the back side…interesting, almost!

I walked on, saying “Thank you and goodbye!” to these two little ‘garden friends’

Tiny Garden Friends

…breathing a heavy sigh of relief when I saw that the locked gate could be opened from the inside!

I was home free…well almost, just a few buildings away!

I’m pleased I could give you this little tour of walking IN the lake…which I’ll probably never get the chance to do again…as I don’t perceive many changes in the surroundings!

8 responses to “A Walk IN the Lake: Part 4

  1. Sounds like you went a real adventure. It looks really cold there, really cold, not sure how I would go there myself. Glad you got out okay and didn’t have to go into the water.

    • I just wanted to avoid the ICE! I was wearing sturdy boots, but still, with the cane, walking even in the sands was difficult. It was about 15 degrees F….that’s 17 degrees below freezing, but there was no wind, so it was bearable for most of the walk.

  2. Oops. I mixed up the history of the buildings. So your building was a former hotel? They’re all beautiful. I love the large window panes. And the sitting area! There’s something magical, moody-bluesy about frozen waves. Haunting, really. You captured the mood. What a great way to start the week! B.

Leave a Reply

