Some neighborhood oddities

Sure, every neighborhood has some odd things about it…I guess they go along with the odd people. For instance:

On Sunday, I left through the back door of my building to go for a walk, and this huge piece of ice was propped up against the neighbor's fence!  No idea where it came from, unless someone poured buckets of water out their window onto the covered Dumpster out back...but people will do strange things.  Yesterday, it was totally cracked, at the very bottom of our back steps!  Someone Wanted an accident to happen, that's for certain.

On Sunday, I left through the back door of my building to go for a walk, and this huge piece of ice was propped up against the neighbor’s fence! No idea where it came from, unless someone poured buckets of water out their window onto the covered Dumpster out back…but people will do strange things. Yesterday, it was totally cracked into pieces, at the very bottom of our back steps! Someone wanted an accident to happen, that’s for certain.

*

This finely-constructed old house is several blocks up Sheridan Road, on a valuable 'corner lot', no less!  I call it 'The Mold House'--why?  Because in the six years I've lived here, nothing has been done by the owners to abate the heavy mold growth on the soffits.  It's even advancing down the outer walls!  Odd to me, because if I owned that property, I would have begun doing something about the mold long ago--it's unhealthy!

This finely-constructed old house is several blocks up Sheridan Road, on a valuable ‘corner lot’, no less! I call it ‘The Mold House’–why? Because in the six years I’ve lived here, nothing has been done by the owners to abate the heavy mold growth under the eaves. It’s even advancing down the outer walls! Odd to me, because if I owned that property, I would have begun doing something about the mold long ago–it’s unhealthy!

*

This home is quite stately, with deep red brick and lots of black wrought iron over the Palladian windows.  It has a nicely kept yard and looks as is the owners truly care about their home, which looks as if it was built around the late 1920s.  I take exception with the 'flying gargoyle' hanging from the drainpipe--what were they thinking?

This home on Howard Street is quite large and stately, with deep red brick and lots of black wrought iron over the Palladian windows. It has a nicely kept yard and looks as is the owners truly care about their home, which looks as if it was built around the late 1920s. I take exception with the ‘flying gargoyle’ hanging from the drainpipe–WHAT were they thinking?

4 responses to “Some neighborhood oddities

  1. That flying gargoyle looks rather evil and ready for mischief, I think! Perhaps they were too afraid to take him down, lest he exacted some revenge!
    Such a shame the mould is taking over the other house – it looks like a really nice property. Perhaps that gargoyle could have a word with them!

    • Thanks for the chuckle, Lancer! Yes, it’s quite a large old house…just really needs a good looking-after. I’d love to see the inside…maybe someday I’ll (boldly) ring the bell and ask!

Leave a Reply

