‘Playing’ with pears!

My Mother, and probably yours too, used to warn us all the time–“Don’t play with your food!”, but I decided to do it anyway!

Here are the originals of three tabletop set-ups in natural lighting I did last week:

Pears-Bartlett and Seckel

Pears-Bartlett and Seckel

*

Pears-Bosc

Pears-Bosc

*

Pears-Nine

Pears-Nine

They’re OK, but I wanted to see what more I could do to enhance their wonderful forms.

The ‘playing’ began with cropping and adjusting Pears-Bartlett and Seckel:

Pears-Bartlett and Seckel

Lots of burning and dodging, along with subduing the color, but I felt it needed something more!

‘Something’ being ‘watercolor’ (after going through all the filters available!).

I enjoy what happened with the light, shadows and colors here...

I enjoy what happened with the light, shadows and colors here…

*

…so I did the same with Pears-Bosc!

Nice, but not nearly as nice as...

Nice, but not nearly as nice as…

*

...what happened when I applied the watercolor Artistic Filter.  Ooh, mysterious Boscs!

…what happened when I applied the watercolor Artistic Filter. Ooh, mysterious Boscs!

I did something different with Pears-Nine besides shooting at an alternative angle.

A lot of dodging and burning to bring out the light and colors worked fine, but I felt it still was lacking.  After reducing the saturation somewhat, I took it through all the filters...

A lot of dodging and burning to bring out the light and colors worked fine, but I felt it still was lacking. After reducing the saturation somewhat, I took it through all the filters…

*

...and used the Texturizer in Canvas mode to give it the appearance of a very realistic painting!

…and used the Texturizer in Canvas mode to give it the appearance of a very realistic painting!

I really can paint like this, but it does take an awful lot of time…and technically analyzing and processing an image allows me to be as creative as possible, because I tend to ‘push’ the software to places it really does not want to go…but then I have to settle for something like this, with a very ‘mechanical’ canvas-look which I hate!

Perhaps when I’ve finished the on-going Spring cleaning, I’ll rework this particular image…because the more I look at it, the more it screams, “HELP!”

In the meantime, our promised “6 to 10 inches” snowstorm has begun with a few flurries…and it’s time for me to slather my hands with lotion and wash down some more woodwork!

Have a great day!

8 responses to “‘Playing’ with pears!

  1. I love it when you play, mi amiga. I am awed by the dramatic effects that only you can bring out. I thank God for giving you such talent; and thank you for sharing it with the world.

    • Oh, yes, Lancer…even my own dear Mother would stand back and approve, were she still alive! She loved art and design, and worked hard at developing her talents, though she never even graduated from high school…it was a very harsh life for her, until she married my Dad.

Leave a Reply

