Ever since I was a child…

…I have been fascinated by Tulips.

Of course, way back then, you rarely saw them in any color but red or yellow, unlike this particular beauty I found at a neighbor’s front yard about two hours ago:

The veining of pale magenta was so elegant, I decided to take a peek inside!

The veining of pale magenta was so elegant, I decided to take a peek inside!

So very entrancing, I just had to look into a few others!

So very entrancing, I just had to look into a few others!

*

08MAY Tulips-3

*

08MAY Tulips-4

*

08MAY Tulips-5

Photographing these really cheered me, as I’ve been battling an on-again/off-again cold for the past few days, and not getting enough rest because of it.

Today’s weather was quite glorious, but as usual, the wind is off the lake, making the temperature about ten to twelve degrees cooler than the seventy-some degrees F. Chicago experienced this afternoon.

Ah, Chicago…it can be 80 degrees F. during the day, and fall 40 degrees and more overnight!

 

2 responses to “Ever since I was a child…

  1. I’ve had that cold as well. Was pretty bad over the weekend, but I seem to be getting past it now.
    The tulips are gorgeous. They are hard to grow here because it doesn’t get cold enough, you have to stick the bulbs in the fridge for about 6 weeks first.
    I don’t remember seeing them as a child, but I do like them, there is something about the simplicity of them. I like flowers that are simply, like lilies.

    • Love lilies also, Leanne, especially the Call lilies…those you have photographed are so intriguingly gorgeous…and, I chose them as the ‘altar flowers’ way back when I got married!

      Tulips do seem to require cold in order to bloom…wondering why, and if I find time, I’ll probably research that!

Leave a Reply

