‘Playing’ with Peonies

I found some gorgeous Peonies in full bloom on my mile walk to the pharmacy the other day…but I really didn’t care for the way the images turned out…so, of course, this morning I decided to ‘play’ a bit!

The original, as the camera saw it

The original, as the camera saw it

 

The intermediate, after straightening, cropping, utilizing Selective Color, and lots of Burning and Dodging

The intermediate, after straightening, cropping, utilizing Selective Color, and lots of Burning and Dodging

 

The final, with a Watercolor treatment, more Selective color and, of course, more Burning and Dodging

The final, with a Watercolor treatment, more Selective Color adjustments and, of course, more Burning and Dodging

I didn’t realize the next image featured a fly and the eyes of two ‘garden decor’ deer until I uploaded.

The original

The original

I decided to get rid of the faux deer–a good choice, in my opinion!

The intermediate, after cropping and utilizing Selective Color, Burning and Dodging

The intermediate, after cropping and utilizing Selective Color, Burning and Dodging

Photoshop’s Artistic Ocean Ripple filter has never really appealed to me–until I ‘played’ with it on this image…and found it added some interest to a very ordinary photo of a Peony.

The final, with more adjustments of Selective Color, Burning, Dodging and the Artistic Ocean Ripple filter added at the last

The final, with more adjustments of Selective Color, Burning, Dodging and the Artistic Ocean Ripple filter added at the last

Combined, these two images took about an hour to process, and the results were entirely worth spending the time to make the ordinary a bit ‘extraordinary’!

You might ask why I bother transforming what are considered dull images?

My answer:

“Because for me, it’s fun…and everyone needs SOME fun in their lives, don’t they?!?”

4 responses to “‘Playing’ with Peonies

  1. I’m with you! It’s all about the process. I especially love the bottom shot. I’m glad you kept the fly in the shot! B. (I’ll check out the Artistic Ocean Ripple filter today.)

    • They’re so ‘showy’, Leanne…my Mother planted quite a few when we moved into out new house in the mid-19502…they were gorgeous, but like me, she was NOT a bug person, and the peonies got moved further away from the house (they tend to draw the ants, but I’m not certain why?).

Leave a Reply

