Let the YUMS begin!

A few ambitious, young gardeners began early this season, first taking out half the old soil from their small raised bed at the local Community Garden, then replacing it with compost and weed-free soil.

About a month ago, in spite of Chicago’s cold, late Spring, they planted seeds and a few hardier vegetables.

Here are some of the results, as of last Saturday:

Golden-ribbed Swiss Chard

Golden-ribbed Swiss Chard

 

Broccoli

Broccoli

 

Red and Green Leaf Lettuce

Red and Green Leaf Lettuce

 

Kale

Kale

 

Hardy Chives, with gorgeous blossoms, ready to be pinched back--or not?

Hardy Chives, with gorgeous blossoms, ready to be pinched back–or not?

 

Kohlrabi

Kohlrabi

 

Red Cabbage

Red Cabbage

 

Popeye's favorite--Spinach

Popeye’s favorite–Spinach

 

Green Leaf Lettuce

Green Leaf Lettuce

 

A huge Strawberry plant--the flower buds are forming in that dark area!

A huge Strawberry plant–the flower buds are forming in that dark area!

I have to say, “I am GREEN with envy!”

2 responses to “Let the YUMS begin!

    • With the blood thinners I must take forever, I really have to watch my consumption of green things, Leanne, so I hardly ever eat brocolli, which I love. A few peas and green beans here and there, but I have to maintain a routine, or my blood thickens, making a clot–and I don’t want that ever again (it has to do with large amounts of Vitamin K).

      But I do love photographing the greenies!

Leave a Reply

