Fit for a…

DOCTOR!

During my last appointment, I mentioned to my doctor that I was again baking bread, and made a ‘mean Challah‘.

He is Jewish, and quickly retorted, “I LOVE Challah!!!”

Well, yesterday was a warm, dry day–perfect bread-baking weather, and as his birthday was two weeks ago, I decided to give him a belated birthday gift!

And, I did–with these!

I took the pix quickly, as I wanted to get them delivered while the Challah was still warm, so they're not the greatest!

I took the pix quickly, as I wanted to get them delivered while the Challah was still warm, so they’re not the greatest!  But he was impressed, and thanked me twice!

 

The loaf at top left is the one I presented to the doctor. The smaller loaves were baked in little oval pie pans--I gave each of the nurses one, and also gave one to the wonderful phlebotomist who draws my blood every month! She dove right in, proclaiming the Challah excellent, and asked for the recipe, which I will print out for her!

The loaf at top left is the one I presented to the doctor.
The smaller loaves were baked in little oval pie pans–I gave each of the nurses one, and also gave one to the wonderful phlebotomist who draws my blood every month!
She dove right into the loaf, proclaiming the Challah excellent, and asked for the recipe, which I will print out for her!

Of course, I had my camera, and took advantage of the lovely small Hibiscus in the center planting of the circular drive of the building, which I processed today and turned into Watercolors!

Small Red Hibiscus-1 Watercolor

*

Small Red Hibiscus-2 Watercolor

*

Small Red Hibiscus-3 Watercolor

N.B.:  I am so behind in viewing blogs I follow, so I ask you to please excuse my tardiness.

The breads were kneaded by hand, and required three risings, so a lot of time was spent on that, which is very hard on the fingers.

I found that by 7:00 last night, I had no energy left to do much of anything, and typing became very painful…so I’ll get to your blogs ‘little by little, bit by bit’–thanks!!!

12 responses to “Fit for a…

  1. Hello there,
    I was wandering around the web and found your photography blog. What a stroke of great luck! I enjoy your images and your reflections.

    I too am a digital photographer and a bread baker. I was wondering if by any chance you would part with your Challah recipe? My husband’s relatives live in Slovakia and I visited there. Sadly, they spoke little English and I could not get a recipe.

    cheers,
    Anne

    • Now, that’s fun! I am half Slovakian, Anne, but the recipe is from Nathan’s deli, I think. Google “Best Challah (Egg Bread) Adapted from Joan Nathan”…I’m certain you’ll find it–and thanks so for the visit!

  2. Labour of love. I’d love to try baking this bread with my little girl who just loves the kneading process. She’ll definitely enjoy making this braided bread. 😉

  3. Wonderful! Delicious bread and acts of kindness make this world a much better place 🙂
    The red hibiscus is beautiful and I love what you’ve done with it.
    I’m well behind with responding to comments and reading blogs, too, for an overload of reasons – I think we all have times like that and understand.

Leave a Reply

