It’s been a week of storms…

…and hot weather here, with some beautiful images taken from my windows.

Storm Clouds-1

*

Storm Clouds-2

*

Stormy Weather-1

*

Storm Clouds-3

*

Stormy Weather-3

There have been some wondrous sunsets…

???????????????????????????????

*

Storm Clouds-4

*

???????????????????????????????

…and I managed to capture a beauty of a beginning twilight.

26JUN2013 Twilight 832 PM

I’ve been extremely busy trying to get mundane things done during this steamy weather…it tires me so that I must lay down for a short nap in the afternoons, then awake groggily only to try and sleep again a few hours later.

Sleeping in ‘shifts’ is not my forte!

In addition, we had a power outage late Wednesday afternoon for about an hour and a half, which gave me the opportunity to walk over to the next street and see how the apricot-colored Lilies were coming along.

Here are a few…you be the judge!

Of course, I had to apply some of Photoshop's filters...this is Watercolor.

Of course, I had to apply some of Photoshop’s filters…this is Watercolor.

*

Poster Edges

Poster Edges

*

Fresco

Fresco

*

Vertical Grain

Vertical Grain

Sumi-e

Sumi-e

Shooting these helped bring me out of my ‘funk’, and after working it, the last image will become a 24″ x 30″ painting!

8 responses to “It’s been a week of storms…

  1. The lilies are looking great, I love the colour, I don’t normally like that colour, but it looks great in the images. I love how you sort of borrow other peoples gardens for your photos, if you lived around here I would plant things near the foot path so you could photograph them.
    I do love the stormy skies, summer is the best time for photos like that. We get some brilliant stormy skies too, especially after a few really hot days.

    • Well, I sure wish I had a garden of my own, Leanne, and your ‘footpath’ sounds perfect–I’d plant it with flowers and herbs, especially lavender! We haven’t had such great clouds here in a very long time, so I’m shooting them like crazy and keeping them ‘in storage’ to be used…whenever I feel like it, I guess. I’ve an awful lot of florals ‘in storage’ too…planning to bring them out in Winter, when they’re really appreciated!

      • I off to my mums today, there is so much space up there, that I am also hoping to get some great clouds. I love clouds. It is going to be an interesting trip, I think my reasons and what I want to shoot have changed quite a bit.
        You could do what you wanted with my garden, it would be nice to have someone looking after it.

      • Clouds have ALWAYS fascinated me, Leanne. When I was a little girl, I used to lay on the grass and spend hours just watching clouds. I’ve seen them in every shape and color, or so I thought…I’m always surprised when I see something new! Have a great time at Mum’s…and wish I had all the $$$ (and health!) so I could make the trip over and do your garden! Well, perhaps I’ll try making it grow using ‘mental telepathy’!?! (Haha!)

Leave a Reply

