While walking home…

…from the grocer the other, I happened upon this signpost which I realized I’d never shown here before.

It’s just less than a block from where I live, and it brings back so many childhood memories, because this was the very first children’s program I viewed when my Dad bought our first television in 1950–“Kukla, Fran and Ollie”!

Please, take a moment to read…this TV program gave me and my brothers many hours of great entertainment!

???????????????????????????????

*

Tillstrom-2

To think, he gave puppet shows from his apartment window!

Now, I’ve passed this building many, many times, always admiring it for having that ‘certain something’…I just really like the look of it, so I began photographing it in relation to the information re: Mr. Burt Tillstrom.

???????????????????????????????

*

???????????????????????????????

*

???????????????????????????????

*

???????????????????????????????

*

I figured that this had to have been the puppet show window, as I could envision the neighborhood kids gathering on the lawn below, enjoying themselves on a war Summer evening.

I figured that this had to have been the puppet show window, as I could envision the neighborhood kids gathering on the lawn below, enjoying themselves on a war Summer evening.

I was about to walk away when I noticed a plaque to the right of that window.

I walked right over the lawn to take a shot, thinking it was a typical ‘management’ sign–but NO!

To my surprise, it not only signified the name of the building, but also the architect!

Are you as surprised as I?

Are you as surprised as I?

As I recall from viewing a DVD on Mr. Wright’s life recently, he was really scrambling for money in 1918, so perhaps he took this commission ‘for the bucks’, diverging from his normal-for-that-time Prairie style architecture!

As I said, the building has that ‘certain something’, but I hadn’t realized it was THAT ‘certain something’!

4 responses to “While walking home…

  1. I don’t think we got that television show here, though there are shows that I know bring back memories, ones that I am sure weren’t shown anywhere else. The apartment block looks pretty incredible and you must have had a thought somewhere that the architecture has a familiar feel to it.

    • Yes, across the street is a home designed by one of Wright’s student, very much in the Prairie style, and the Bach House is a block away, and there was originally another Bach House (the brother’s) a block north of that. The problem is, even when I get into ‘public’ records, there is usually no provenance on a building such as this…that’s why I was so shocked to read the plaque!

  2. amazing post, with a startling twist! i would never have guessed that was a Frank Lloyd Wright building. I was reading along to the end thinking you had found the exact puppet-show window. . . . think of all the amazing characters that this building has seen!

    • Hi, Celia and first, thanks for the visit!

      I felt it had to be that particular window for the shows, which would probably have had heavy drapes back then. I’ve always like this building because it’s assymetrically designed, but, like you, never thought it would be a Wright!

Leave a Reply

