Something quite wonderful!

NOTE:  I published this post on the 8th, But WordPress dumped it!  I found the Draft, so here it is!

The other day while walking to the train, I kept looking for something…something different.

I had taken an alternate route, as it was a warm, sunny day, and I needed some of that ‘sunshine vitamin’!

This is what stopped me in my tracks!

This is what stopped me in my tracks!

The owner of the house was in her side drive, doing some spray painting of a wrought iron piece.

I quietly asked if she could tell me what kind of tree this was.

“Oh, it’s a Tamarisk!”, which she then spelled out for me., and allowed me to take some shots after we talked a while and I gave her my card.

I took more!

???????????????????????????????

*

???????????????????????????????

*

It's set off beautifully against the Yucca blossoms, don't you think?

It’s set off beautifully against the Yucca blossoms, don’t you think?

Before getting back to her project, she added that it was a pity more people didn’t plant these lovelies, with which I fervently agreed, then took one last shot.

Sherwin Tamarisk-5

When I got back home, I googled, and here’s a bit of what I found:

Tamarisk Tree

The genus Tamarix (tamarisk, salt cedar) is composed of about 50-60 species of flowering plants in the family Tamaricaceae, native to drier areas of Eurasia and Africa.

 The generic name originated in Latin and may have referred to the Tamaris River in Hispania Tarraconensis (Spain).

You can read more about Tamarisk trees here.

It’s always good to learn something new, isn’t it?

2 responses to “Something quite wonderful!

    • I’ve never walked there when these were in the blooming stage, and because they were brownish and droopy, they just never interested me, Leanne…but this year, I’ll be over there, definitely, shooting for the comparison!

Leave a Reply

