Just one of those things

At about 3:00AM Thursday morning, my desktop made a grinding noise and shut itself down.

After four hours of sleep, I figured out how to open it and spent the bulk of the day cleaning the inside and trying to get it up and running, to no avail.

The internal power supply had “died”, which I found out from my computer guy downstairs is a common occurrence after a few years.

So…I dragged out my very old Toshiba laptop, hooked it up, and surprisingly, remembered my password…but, not only is it VERY slow, it just ‘puts itself to sleep’ at any point!

At least it has a working copy of Photoshop (TM) 8, so I could process the images!

The new power supply will be installed sometime on Monday, according to my computer guy, so posting until then might be a bit sparse–please accept my apologies for that!

The resident copy of Nikon Transfer would not do its job, nor could I uninstall then reinstall, so I had to figure a way to transfer my photos taken during a wonderful walk yesterday afternoon.

I accomplished that, but have been interrupted quite a few times re: the intermittent ‘falling asleep’ problem, which means I’ll have to go out later and make a trip to “The Patience Store” to pick up at least TEN pounds of patience!

*

Earlier in the week, I purchased a manual food chopper for the reasonable price of $7.99 (plus tax, of course!).

I thought you might like to see it.

Nice, isn't it? I haven't used it yet, but I can tell you the blades are REALLY sharp, and the entire piece disassembles for washing. However, I had some trouble releasing it from its packaging, which to my mind is a bit 'wasteful'!

Nice, isn’t it?
I haven’t used it yet, but I can tell you the blades are REALLY sharp, and the entire piece disassembles for washing.
However, I had some trouble releasing it from its packaging, which to my mind is a bit ‘wasteful’!

I think the designer went a bit overboard with all the folds and inserts!

I think the designer went a bit overboard with all the folds and inserts!

Here's the inside view, which makes it easier to see the intricacies of the design. Ah, well, into the Recycling Bin with that!

Here’s the inside view, which makes it easier to see the intricacies of the design.
Ah, well, into the Recycling Bin with that!

7 responses to “Just one of those things

  1. Poor you!! So you’ll get the new power supply on Monday? Any updates?! Boo. Hoo. Blah. I need to visit the patience store. I wonder if they have any online shop. . .T. (I dig your new food chopper? Have you prepared any dishes with it? I’ve been away from WordPress world. How is the weather in Chicago?)

    • Weather in two words–BLASTED HOT, Mlle B.!

      Power supply was installed late yesterday afternoon, so I am ‘back in business’! Haven’t chopped anything yet, maybe later today, as I have some raw almonds which I’ll use to garnish ‘something’–it’s just too hot to really cook!

  2. poor you…it is usually the hard drives that go…I once read somewhere that a hard drive exists in one of only two states..’failed – or about to fail’…make sure you have a good backup – I recommend Crashplan (and I work in IT)..$5 per month for unlimited off line storage, so if your computer burns out, gets stolen or any unrepairable harm comes to it you can always retreive your data…well worth the money!

    • Thanks so for the tip, smacked! Right now, I have things backed up (partially) on an external drive, and on DVD…but I’ve been thinking of paying the fee to store online. I’ll definitely check out Crashplan later today!

Leave a Reply

