Last night…

…this wondrous storm came rolling in slowly from the west.

21JUL2013 Storm NW

You can see a heavy rain falling at lower camera right, such a heavy rain that the view of downtown Evanston was almost not there at all!

21JUL2013 Storm N Downtown Evanston

* * *

Many of you know I am also a painter, and I have been spending some amount of time in the studio, working on a project dedicated to my deceased younger son.

I’ve had his business card for all these seventeen years, and needed to do something with the Chinese characters which translate to:

Gold(en)

Silent

Man

Its progress was interrupted last year by my nine days in the hospital and a fairly long recuperation time.

Recently, I pulled it out, and struggled to find a ‘good’ direction…of course, it’s not finished yet, as I have many other projects going on, but I feel you’ll get the idea?

The border was taped off, then stippled in with a mixture of regular joint compound mixed with flexible white glue (SOBO brand), a combination I've used for many years, beginning way back when I was a Scenic Artist.

The border was taped off, then stippled in with a mixture of regular joint compound mixed with flexible white glue (SOBO brand), a combination I’ve used for many years, beginning way back when I was a Scenic Artist.

The characters are painted in a pointillistic manner with Liquitex Deep Hooker’s Green Heavy Body acrylic…it took four passes to get this texture.

The border was then given several coats of acrylic polyurethane, which, while still wet, I sifted some variegated gold leaf pieces over.

The border was then given several coats of acrylic polyurethane, onto which, while still wet, I sifted some variegated gold leaf pieces.

I then carefully washed with a thin Venetian red, but still was not getting what I wanted to see…so I brushed on an oil-based deep gold, then sponged it off–NOW I was getting somewhere!

The last step (I hope!) will be washing in shadows along each edge of the border in the Deep Hooker's Green...I may or may not also add a drop shadow of the same to the characters.

The last step (I hope!) will be washing in shadows along each edge of the border in the Deep Hooker’s Green…I may or may not also add a drop shadow of the same to the characters, which need a bit of touch-up…and possibly add a bit more selectively-placed gold leaf to the border.

Here’s the entire 12″ x 16″ work in its current state:

I know my dear friend Ng Tom in Hong Kong has been patiently waiting to see this ouevre...it shall be finished soon, Tom, and of course I'll post it, completely framed!

I know my dear friend Ng Tom in Hong Kong has been patiently waiting to see this ouevre…it shall be finished soon, Tom, and of course I’ll post it, completely framed!

* * *

You might also want to visit Tom’s blog, that’s how I see the world, just to understand a bit more of the beauty in Hong Kong.

17 responses to “Last night…

    • I am so happy to hear this from you, dear Tom! Did I get the characters done correctly? I had to enlarge them from his business card, then trace onto the canvas…I was very nervous painting them, knowing that if I strayed ‘outside the lines’, I might just be painting a ‘dirty word’!

  1. As you may know 1000 – I am a sucker for bad weather, what a storm brewing. We are in the middle of one now in Leeds and I am watching it from the office window (got soaked from the bus to the office by inconsiderate drivers who think it is ‘fun’ to drive through puddles when a pedestrian is waiting to cross the road). What a fitting tribute to your dear son..I am sure he would be very pleased.

      • My daughter Bethanie got married 18 months ago – it was a filthy day with torrential rain and because the Registry Office car park was having work done to it we had to park on the street and – yep, you guessed it – some moron came racing around the corner through a puddle and splashed her in her white wedding dress…her day was ruined!

      • Oh, arrrrgh! What a mess, poor Bethanie (lovely name, BTW)! Some days, I really feel as though all the stupid people should be rounded up and moved to a city they could call their own–then see how they like it, when others do such nasty things to them! Cranky and opinionated, this old gal can be, eh, smacked?

      • I don’t think you are cranky and opinionated at all…(and if you are, so what)…I am off to the Haworth moors now for a walk and see if I can find Cathy…maybe add some more photos to my last post!

  2. Oh wow, to both that first image, which is really amazing, and to the painting. I love the textures you have on that, I just want to touch it. I am a very tactile person, drives me nuts going to museums and not being allowed to touch anything.

Leave a Reply

