Yesterday…

…while walking up Van Buren Street to the Harold Washington Library, I noticed this odd reflection in the back window of an SUV:

I love the distortion of the building on the northwest corner of Van Buren Street and Michigan Avenue...it wasn't really falling over!

I love the distortion of the building on the northwest corner of Van Buren Street and Michigan Avenue…it wasn’t really falling over!

Just a few steps later, I saw this plaque:

I've walked by this building so many times, yet never took a shot.

I’ve walked by this building so many times, yet never took a shot.

Here’s a look up at The Buckingham facade, with the CNA Insurance building reflected in its windows:

I always like 'wavy glass'!

I always like ‘wavy glass’!

The CNA Center, at the northeast corner of Van Buren and Wabash Streets, is 600 feet tall with 44 stories…I got a little dizzy looking up to take some shots!

Some years back, a woman was killed when one of the panes of glass quite high up dislodged from its frame and fell directly on her...all windows were repaired while the building was surrounded with scaffolding for a lengthy amount of time.

Some years back, a woman was killed when one of the panes of glass quite high up dislodged from its frame and fell directly on her…all windows were repaired while the building was surrounded with scaffolding for a lengthy amount of time.

After I finished at the library, I walked up to Madison and Dearborn Streets to pay my phone bill.

Just across Van Buren stands the Chase Bank Tower, but I haven’t processed those shots yet because…

...to the south of Chase is the Exelon Plaza, with this fabulous fountain surrounded by all the downtown-types having luncheon.

…to the south of Chase Bank Tower is the Exelon Plaza, with this fabulous fountain surrounded by all the downtown-types having luncheon.

Here’s a closer-up shot in color:

It was a glorious day to dine al fresco, but I didn't, as I had quite another reason for being there!

It was a glorious day to dine al fresco, but I didn’t, as I had quite another reason for being there!

(to be continued)

4 responses to “Yesterday…

  1. Great observations 1000…so nice to have you back with us ‘blogging’…it took me a second or two to realize what the first photo was, but I soon ‘saw’ it …excellent, you really have a ‘photographers eye’. So much to see in the City…I love the reflections and I can’t decide whether the b/w or color shot is best….looking forward to part 2…

    • Thanks so much, smacked! I was really struggling (so very tired of late) and didn’t spend much time in the Loop…but it was a great feeling to get out of the neighborhood and search out a few things. Part 2 is something I should have shot any number of times by now, but never did…hopefully will post before the end of Thursday….

    • I just love reflections like this! I’ve been into them since I first started seriously shooting B/W stuff back in the 70s.

      We ‘think’ glass is flat–but it’s not always, and when I find something like this, I really get a rush!

Leave a Reply

