Meterological Autumn…

…is just a week away, so I thought I’d show you some of the food neighbors have grown in their small plots in the community garden.

A walkway between the raised beds

A walkway between the raised beds

*

Iron-laden Swiss Chard

Iron-laden Swiss Chard

*

Purple Cabbages, coming along nicely

Purple Cabbages, coming along nicely

*

Fresh Dill, to add to a potato salad for a nice lift

Fresh Dill, to add to a potato salad for a nice lift

Physalis philadelphica, or Tomatillo, is a great addition to Salsa Verde

Physalis philadelphica, better known as Tomatillo, is a great addition to Salsa Verde

*

Cheery Cherry Tomatoes...I almost wanted to pick the ripest and pop it in my mouth, but I did not--I didn't grow it!

Cheery Cherry Tomatoes…I almost wanted to pick the ripest and pop it in my mouth, but I did not–I didn’t grow it!

Don't know about this...it IS a Tomato, perhaps a newer variety?

Don’t know about this…it IS a Tomato, perhaps a newer variety?

*

Small Acorn Squash...they'll be ready to pick in about two weeks

Small Acorn Squash…they’ll be ready to pick in about two weeks

And lastly, at the far end of the garden…

...tiny Crabapples are ripening, just waiting to be pickled and served for Thanksgiving dinner!

…tiny Crabapples are ripening, just waiting to be pickled and served for Thanksgiving dinner!

One huge plus at this location:  There is a water tap, so the gardeners do not have to rely on Mother Nature, who didn’t provide quite enough rain this Summer!

There’ll be some great, fresh meals in a number of homes in the neighborhood–the gardeners’ hard work certainly paid off!

 

6 responses to “Meterological Autumn…

  1. Looks delicious 1000! And will it be autumn in a week? I suppose so, the curtains are being drawn earlier each day now and the solstice is 2 months past so it must be…still autumn is my favourite time of year

    • Oh, mine also, smacked! I DO love Spring, especially after our blah Chicago winters, but Autumn–there’s just something about the maturing of things, the harvesting and storing up, the gorgeous colors after months of lots of green–all that really makes me appreciative of this Earth we inhabit!

    • So hoping you don’t have another ‘scorcher’, Leanne! Last summer caused loads of damage to flora and fauna in AU–I do prayers, and keep AU in them for a safe season with plentiful water…and lower electric bills, too!

Leave a Reply

