It’s been a very long six days…

…since I last posted, and I’d like to fill you in on things.

Last Friday, my doctor found I was suffering from hypertension and prescribed an ‘add-on’ pill to the BP pill I already take.

In addition, the pain medication I have been taking hasn’t been working well, so a new med was prescribed, as the rise in blood pressure is aggravated by constant pain.

When I arrived home, I took one of these as prescribed, and began to feel ‘loopy’, then spent Saturday and Sunday taking it easy (watching reruns of “Inspector Morse” on Hulu!) so my body could adjust to taking only half a pill at a time.

Then came Monday.

I’ve been going to bed between 9 and 10 PM, always reading for a while–but waking three or four hours later…sleeping in shifts is not something I enjoy, nor is it healthy!

So I returned to bed around 5 AM, woke at about 8:30, and quickly found the horrific events going on in Washington, D. C., which kept me riveted to the screen most of the day.

I used to live in Alexandria VA, just across the Potomac River, and knew D. C. quite well then, even after all the changes in the city.

I also had a son who was US Navy, so you can understand my interest in the situation there.

Another night of sleeping in shifts followed, but the pain was almost absent, so to take my mind off things, I began the very arduous task of priming my ugly kitchen walls.

It's a rather small galley-type kitchen, and with the appliances pulled out, there's still not a lot of space to maneuver. Oh, and it wasn't 'dirty yellow'...that comes from an additive to the gas(you should see my oven interior--within a week after a thorough cleaning, the same 'dirty yellow' is inside, which really can't be very healthy, can it?

It’s a rather small galley-type kitchen, and with the appliances pulled out, there’s still not a lot of space to maneuver.
Oh, and it wasn’t ‘dirty yellow’…that comes from an additive to the gas (you should see my oven interior–within a week after a thorough cleaning, the same ‘dirty yellow’ is inside, which really can’t be very healthy, can it?).

Five hours later, the kitchen walls and ceiling were finally finished…

???????????????????????????????

*

???????????????????????????????

*

I took this shot Wednesday morning, before continuing climbing up and down to prime the ceiling area above my dinner table and little 'office area' where my computer/scanner/printer is located. More moving furniture back and forth really did me in--but everything looks great and is ready for the final coat!

I took this shot Wednesday morning, before continuing climbing up and down to prime the ceiling area above my dinner table and little ‘office area’ where my computer/scanner/printer is located.
More moving furniture back and forth really did me in–but everything looks great and is ready for the final coat!

Today, I had an appointment and some shopping to do–so of course, it was heavily raining!

Last night, there was an awful lot of lightning and thunder, but here there was very little rain, unlike further south in the city, where underpasses were flooded, cars were stalled, and a young sewer worker was washed away while working underground (I’m unsure if he’s been found at this point, but it’s another sadness to add to a very sad week).

I did manage to get some shots from my window of a few glorious sunsets, which I finally had time to work on today.

???????????????????????????????

*

Stormy Sunsets-3

*

Stormy Sunsets-2

Soooo…that was my week, and although I’m tired and a bit achy, I’ll probably be able to finish the kitchen tomorrow, if I can just get a full night’s continuous sleep!

Any of you who have done your own painting know the upheaval necessary, and I’ll be very thrilled to put my ‘NEW’ kitchen back in order over the weekend–that’s the way it has to be for this old gal!

“A place for everything, and everything in its place!”

6 responses to “It’s been a very long six days…

    • The more I try, the less rest I get, it seems…but I shall take your kind words to heart, dear Tom, and make some time for relaxation.

      The painting is not difficult for me, as I did that professionally for many years. The thing which is most tiring is to move things back and forth, as my apartment is not very large. But, because it is me doing the painting, I only work when I feel up to it…My sole deadline is to be finished before cold weather…and that is quite some time away (I hope?!?).

      Thanks you so much for your concern, dear friend!

  1. I agree with NgTom…take it easy 1000! But what sunsets…incredible (especially the first one..I would be so proud if I took that)…your kitchen looks good by the way (would you like to come over and give ours a clean??? – it could do with one)

    • It’s just that once I begin, I have to finish, smacked. I DO take loads of breaks, normally, but painting is not difficult at all for me (a real ‘pro’, am I, am I!). I worked out the logistics of painting a room decades ago and, thankfully, I ‘cut in’ around moldings very smoothly and effortlessly. It’s the moving stuff around in my small place that tires me, but thankfully also, I have loads of dropcloths to cover floor and furniture. Just anxious, I guess, to finally be getting at it, what with the ‘bedbug’ invasion and all–but I have conquered them through hard work and diligence and fastidiousness, so the painting is the least tiring (except for the ups and downs, of course!).

Leave a Reply

