Arrangements…

…in the key of Winter.

Here are the originals, straight from the camera, as taken last Friday at the entrance of The Breakers on Sheridan Road, where my doctor’s office is located.

The lighting is sodium vapor, which does nothing for the colors–so I knew this would be a fun project!

???????????????????????????????

*

???????????????????????????????

*

???????????????????????????????

*

???????????????????????????????

*

???????????????????????????????

After taking a good, long look at them, I began by flipping a few, then processing in Photoshop (TM) and giving them a final touch of the Diffuse filter, using pure white as the Background color.

Hope you like the results!

???????????????????????????????

*

???????????????????????????????

*

???????????????????????????????

*

???????????????????????????????

*

???????????????????????????????

What better way could there be to spend a ‘freezy-beezy’ afternoon?

4 responses to “Arrangements…

    • Leanne Cole in Melbourne has used NIK, smacked, and last year showed some of the process. I’m always fresh out of $$$…it’s something around $150 here in the States, and because I have CS4 Design Premium (cost: over $1,900) I’m forced to stick with Photoshop….and Illustrator, Flash and the rest of the package.

      Good to hear though, that you’ve decided to do some experimenting. NIK has some great features that are not readily apparent in P’shop…but I constantly seek ‘new’ ways to process my images.

      Did you purchase it yet? Haven’t been able to keep up with you, but the next few days look promising, as it will become severely cold here, and I won’t have to go out for anything!

      • I use CS6 and lightroom – I think you can do everything in Photoshop that NIK does, it is just that few know how (me included)..my photoshop skills are not very good (I can dodge/burn and repair scratches and maybe add a new sky, but that is about it). But NIK wouldn’t work for me at first – I had to write some scripts in order for it to load (it didn’t like my video drive)…it is a bit flaky and I think the developers at NIK need a kick up the backside but once it gets going it is quite good – definitely not worth the price though (at least, not until they have ironed out the considerable bugs though – sorry, I am a software developer – I look for bugs).

      • I had considered buying it, as opposed to upgrading CS4, but…I, too, learned of some of the bugs, and opted out.

        Twenty-six years ago, when I began doing computer animation, I worked with new software LOADED with bugs and very little documentation. Therefore…I am always cautious when seeing demos portraying how ‘wonderful’ a product is, and though I’m not in IT, I also look for bugs–because they’re always there!

Leave a Reply

